The Perfect Mum

img_b2301912aa1

I expected a baby I loved so much,

I promised to be a perfect parent,

Read books, attended classes and such,

Information abound wherever I went.

***************

When the baby came home at last

I was nervous but well informed,

Rearing my offspring would be a blast,

I would be judged by how I performed.

**************

My mother and mother in law were kind,

But I felt their advice was outdated.

Any problem in my books I could find,

Unsolicited help I hated.

**************

When baby and I were at last alone,

At first all happened as expected.

I did everything as I was shown.

I was prepared and nothing was neglected.

**************

Then nights of broken sleep became real

And my powers of judgment diminished.

I never had an uninterrupted meal.

All accumulated knowledge just vanished.

****************

Nothing was happening as I had planned,

I needed advice not found in books.

I returned to the help I had earlier banned.

I needed hugs, praise and encouraging looks.

********************

The moral of story is very clear,

Individual babies do not conform.

Keep doors open for advice you may hear.

Loving support is invaluable once baby is born.

******************

© Teresa Denton.

www.welcomelittlestranger.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Poetry, Preparing for Arrival, The Arrival and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Perfect Mum

  1. Nick Jones says:

    Lovely!

  2. dawndenton says:

    What a lovely poem!!! Thank you!!!

  3. A wonderful, heart-felt piece of writing! Thank you.

  4. tanyagirard says:

    Reblogged this on Annette's Infants and commented:
    I remember feeling the exact same way when my first child was born! I thought this poem is beautifully written! This is a great blog I follow. Teresa does a wonderful job posting a variety of topics!!

Leave a Reply

